Eastern Promises Intro

easternpromises

I’m currently sitting in the Taipei International Airport, waiting for a connecting flight to Hong Kong where I will be on exchange until December.

I know – the 100 (probably closer to 50, in actuality) dates of summer is not even close to finished. But time caught up with me and here I am.

It turned out to be a difficult decision to follow through on this exchange. Summer unfolded in a way that I didn’t expect and in fact turned out better than I ever hoped for. It was a very important time in my life. On one hand, I wanted to keep the momentum going and continue to explore the new life I had carved out in Toronto. But I also recognized that I may never get a chance to live in East Asia again. It was a difficult decision and one I did not come to lightly.

So here I am. It’s 6AM and I’m sitting in the international waiting lounge in Taipei. A baby is crying and the smell of beef noodle soup wafts from the cafe next door. There are already people in Toronto I miss dearly. While that’s a tough pill to swallow right now, I think in the long run that is a very, very good thing.

So here are my Eastern Promises:

-I will approach new experiences with an open and eager mind.
-I will approach new food with an empty stomach.
-I will find something I’m scared of doing and do it.
-I will surprise myself.

Leave a Reply

